Georgia Car Insurance Laws
Georgia is an “at-fault” state for auto accidents. That means that if you were injured in a car crash, there are three ways to seek compensation for your injury-related expenses:
- Filing a claim directly with the at-fault driver’s insurance provider
- If your case cannot be settled with the at-fault driver’s insurance provider, filing a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver in civil court
- Filing a claim with your own insurance provider for your underinsured/uninsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage
At Owens & Mulherin Injury Lawyers, it’s our job to help injury victims determine their best options for getting the money they need for their medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering. The sooner you contact our Savannah auto accident attorneys, the sooner we can begin collecting evidence and working towards a successful resolution for you and your loved ones.
Get in touch with us today at 1-800-396-5368 or by completing a free consultation form. There are no upfront fees for an initial case review, and our work is free unless we get you money for your accident. That’s our No Fee Guarantee®.
How Much Car Insurance Is Required in Georgia?
Georgia state law requires all drivers to purchase and maintain liability insurance. This insurance is designed to cover the costs and expenses incurred during accidents. The minimum requirements for liability insurance in Georgia are:
- $25,000 for the death or injury of one person, including yourself, your passenger, other drivers and their passengers, pedestrians, and more
- $50,000 for the death or injury of more than one person in an accident
- $25,000 for property damage caused by an accident
Because these are minimum requirements, you may purchase additional coverage to protect yourself in the event of an accident.
Getting Additional Compensation from UIM Coverage
Were you injured by a driver who either doesn’t have auto insurance or who carries an amount that won’t cover your damages? If so, you may be eligible to pursue additional compensation from your own insurance provider if you have uninsured (UM)/underinsured (UIM) motorist coverage.
There are two types of UM/UIM coverage in Georgia:
- Reduction or traditional coverage
If your UM/UIM coverage amount exceeds the amount of liability insurance carried by the other driver, you can seek the difference from your own policy. For example, if you have $50,000 in UIM reduction coverage, and the other driver is carrying $25,000 in liability coverage, you are entitled to $25,000 from your own UM/UIM policy.
- Excess or add-on coverage
You may seek excess UM/UIM coverage no matter how much liability coverage the other driver is carrying at the time of the accident. Sometimes called “stacking” coverage, this amount can be stacked on top of the total amount of damages you’re seeking from the other driver’s car insurance policy.
If you have UM/UIM coverage, it can make a big difference in your claim and the amount of compensation that you can receive. Our legal team will review your insurance policy and determine how your UM/UIM coverage will pay out based on the other driver’s coverage.
Contact Our Savannah Car Accident Lawyers
Insurance policies are supposed to protect victims from having to pay for their own accident-related expenses, but it doesn’t always work that way.
An experienced team of Savannah car accident lawyers can determine your best options for recovering maximum compensation. At Owens & Mulherin, we have nearly 20 years of experience fighting for people hurt in car accidents, and we know how to build, present, and negotiate claims to get the results you deserve.
Contact us by dialing 1-800-396-5368 or completing a free online contact form. From the moment you contact us, you can count on our Savannah injury lawyers to be by your side every step of the way.